2022-23 Laureate Awards

2022-23 Laureate Awards

The AAPA laureate board consisting of Laurie Kitzke, Ivan Snyder, and Peter Schaub, has announced its selections for the July 2022 through June 2023 judging period.

Here are the selections:

Letterpress Printed Journal: David M. Tribby, The Tribby Tribune
Honorable Mention: John Carvalho, A Martlet's Tale

Non-Letterpress Printed Journal: George Harnish, Random Cubes
Honorable Mention: Frederick Moe, Farm & Wilderness Report

Journal of Overall Excellence: Clarence Wolfshohl, Anonymous Quarterly

Prose Fiction: Marey Barthoff, Mareyland Register

Prose Non-Fiction: Frank Underwood, "Corky and the Cap Bomb"
Danny Kelly, "The Adventures of Heidi Mae Kelly"

Art: John Carvalho, "Haikuesque Pangram," January 2023
Honorable Mention: Marey Barthoff, Mareyland Register

Poetry: Clarence Wolfshohl, Fishing in Early Spring, June 2023, and Navajo Spirits, May 2023
Honorable Mention: Joanne Lindermann, "Simplicity," September 2022

Special Awards--

Dave Tribby, for coördinating Ink Cahoots for 50 consecutive years

Commentary: Bob Porterfield, Sneaky Dragon, April 2023
Honorable MentionGregory E. McKelvey, "The Big Lie," The Ink Zone, February 2023

AAPA's website has a list of laureate awards going back to 1937.

Recent News

Join AAPA!


Become A Member!

Join AAPA!Amateur journalism is a unique activity. Amateur journalists publish journals on paper & online & come from many perspectives: from deluxe letterpress printed journals, to Xeroxed newsletters, to artistically designed cards and ephemera. We embrace the spirit of being amateurs – loving what we do for pure joy and not financial gain – while creating top quality journals, zines, and homemade publications.

Members receive ...

  • The monthly bundle mailed via the postal service
  • Access to the website and e-journals
  • e-mailed updates
  • Ability to publish your stories on AAPA