2020-21 AAPA Laureates

2020-21 AAPA Laureates

The 2020-21 AAPA Laureate judges, consisting of Heather Lane (chairman), Laurie Kitzke, and Mark McComas, have announed their results:

Prose Non-Fiction: Clarence Wolfshohl, "Sunset," Holy Toledo No. 19, September 2020

Poetry: JoAnne Lindemann, Bittersweet, collection of poems in July 2020 bundle

Journal of Overall Excellence: June Bassemir, Over the Fence

Letterpress Printed Journal: Richard L. Hopkins, Page Two Flag, December 2020, "A City Boy's Love Affair With a Tractor"

Art: John Carvalho, "Dance" and illustration for "Aubade," Ink Cahoots 2020, October bundle

Special Awards--

Coolest Journal: Bil Stahl, Rags From a Scrap-Bag Mind, "Not Cool," October 2020 (in December bundle)
David M. Tribby, for years, years, and more years of assembling Ink Cahoots
Ivan Snyder and Clarence Wolfshohl, for all of the reviews in American Amateur Journalist

You can view a complete list of AAPA laureate winners going back to 1937.




Recent News

Join AAPA!


Become A Member!

Join AAPA!Amateur journalism is a unique activity. Amateur journalists publish journals on paper & online & come from many perspectives: from deluxe letterpress printed journals, to Xeroxed newsletters, to artistically designed cards and ephemera. We embrace the spirit of being amateurs – loving what we do for pure joy and not financial gain – while creating top quality journals, zines, and homemade publications.

Members receive ...

  • The monthly bundle mailed via the postal service
  • Access to the website and e-journals
  • e-mailed updates
  • Ability to publish your stories on AAPA